Your insurer may be owned by a private equity firm. See who owns it, where your premiums are sent, and what they are invested in.

Private equity is buying up US life insurance

137US insurers owned by private equity at the end of 2024. 139 by June 2025.
$704bnof cash and investments they hold for policyholders.
7.8%of everything US insurers have invested.
+16%growth in those assets in a single year.

Source: NAIC Capital Markets Bureau, PE-owned insurers, year-end 2024

What is at stake for policyholders

  • Your policy may be reinsured offshore

    Athene, for example, reinsures 80–100% of the business of its US companies with its own companies in Bermuda, where capital rules and reporting differ from US states.

  • The owner can earn on both sides

    Athene paid Apollo $1.44bn in 2025 to manage its money, and held $35.4bn in investments tied to Apollo.

  • Investments are harder to value

    PE-owned insurers increased their asset-backed and structured securities and their other long-term investments in 2024, according to the NAIC.

  • Less of it is public

    US insurers list every holding in a yearly statement filed with state regulators. Offshore reinsurers do not file these statements.

  • Owners change without asking you

    Your insurer can be sold, merged or renamed. Your contract stays the same, but the people managing your money do not.

  • Protection has limits

    If an insurer fails, your state’s guaranty association steps in, but only up to a set amount per person.

In the news: private credit, AI and your insurer

Life insurers are among the biggest buyers of private credit, including the debt that pays for AI data centers. Regulators and journalists are starting to ask what that means for policyholders.

Links open the original articles and reports. Headlines are the publishers’ own.

An example: Athene

Owned by Apollo. Independence from the owner: Low.

See Athene’s full page →

Of every $100 of new money Athene took in during 2025

$76Kept by Athene
$22ACRA’s outside investors: funds managed by Apollo
$2Outside reinsurers
  • $35.4bninvested with companies and funds tied to Apollo
  • 80–100%of US business reinsured with its own Bermuda companies
  • A+from AM Best and S&P

Source: Athene Holding 10-K, 2025, AM Best, 27 Aug 2026

Your insurer isn’t PE-owned, but…

Many well-known insurers pass part of their business to reinsurers backed by investment firms. Your contract stays the same, but the risk and the money that backs it move.

Amounts at the end of 2025, from the insurers’ 10-Ks and the reinsurers’ statements.

How we follow your premium

  1. Who owns it

    State approval filings show which firm controls your insurer.

  2. Where it’s sent

    Insurers can pass your policy to a reinsurer, often an affiliate in Bermuda.

  3. What it buys

    Yearly statements list every bond, loan and fund the insurer holds.

  4. Who benefits

    We check which of those investments link back to the owner’s own funds and companies.

Find your insurer

Questions

Plain answers about your policy and this site. Nothing here is financial advice.

What is a private equity-owned insurer?

An insurance company controlled by a private equity firm or another investment firm. The firm often also manages the insurer’s money and earns fees for doing so.

Does this change my policy?

No. Your contract terms stay the same when an insurer changes owner or reinsures your policy. The company that issued your policy still owes you the benefits.

What does it mean when my policy is reinsured?

Your insurer pays another company to carry part of the risk of your policy. You keep dealing with your insurer. The question this site asks is who that other company is, and where the money backing your policy ends up.

Why does Bermuda come up so often?

Athene, for example, reinsures most of the business of its US companies with its own companies in Bermuda. Capital rules and public reporting there differ from US states.

What protects me if my insurer fails?

Every state has a guaranty association that covers policyholders up to set limits. The limits vary by state and by type of policy. Each insurer page lets you check your state.

Should I cancel or move my annuity?

Not because of this site alone. Moving an annuity can trigger surrender charges and taxes. Talk to a licensed adviser before changing a policy.

I can’t find my insurer. Why?

Your policy may carry an older company name. Search the sidebar for the name on your contract: former names are included. We add insurers as their filings are checked.

Where does the data come from?

Public filings: SEC annual reports, state insurance department exams, NAIC reports and rating agency announcements. Every section on an insurer page links to its sources.

What is this site for?

More and more US insurers are owned by investment firms, and the details sit in long regulatory filings few people read. We pull the key facts together so policyholders can see who owns their insurer and where their money goes. The site is for information only, free to use for now, and not linked to any insurer or investment firm.

Fortitude Life

Formerly Prudential Annuities Life. Bought from Prudential in 2022 by Fortitude, which Carlyle controls. It no longer sells new policies and looks after older annuities and life insurance.

Controlling owner
Carlyle
Sells
No new policies
Owned since
2022

As of year-end 2025 filings, unless a figure says otherwise.

Is this your policy?

Company names

  • Fortitude Life Insurance & Annuity Company (Arizona)

Former names

  • Prudential Annuities Life Assurance Corporation (until 2022)
  • American Skandia Life Assurance Corporation (until 2008)

Products

  • Variable annuities with lifetime withdrawal guarantees, sold under the Prudential name
  • Variable universal life
  • Fixed payout annuities

Source [1]

Quick check

Independence from CarlyleHighScore 9 of 10, from 4 of 5 indicators (7 of 8 points, scaled). 7–10 means high independence, 4–6 medium, 0–3 low.
Financial strengthFigureWhat it means
RatingGrade from rating agencies; the A range means strongAM Best A, Moody's A3 [3] [4]A range
CapitalCapital compared with the minimum regulators set; they step in below 100%598%End of 2025; 590% a year earlier; as reported by its group [5] [6] [1]
Independence factorsFigureReliance on the owner
Money managed by the ownerShare of its investments run by the owner’s own firm7.5%$489m [1]Low
Business reinsured with own companiesShare of its policies passed to reinsurers in the owner’s group10% [1]Low
Investments tied to the ownerShare of its investments put into the owner’s own funds and companiesNot publishedNot published
Fees paid to the ownerWhat it pays the owner each year to manage its money$4m0.06% of its investments a year [1]Low
Hard-to-sell investmentsLoans and complex securities that are not traded on a market32.8% [1]Medium

Low, Medium and High show how much the insurer relies on its owner, using the thresholds in our methodology. Our own reading of the filings, not a credit rating or financial advice. If an insurer fails, your state’s guaranty association protects policyholders up to a set limit (nolhga.com).

Who owns it

  1. United StatesUnited StatesControlling owner · its fund holds 38.5%The Carlyle Group
  2. Registration not statedHolding companyFGH Parent, L.P.
  3. Registration not statedHolding companyFortitude Group Holdings, LLC
  4. United StatesArizona, United StatesYour insurerFortitude Life Insurance & Annuity Company

Japanese insurer T&D Holdings bought 25% in 2020. The filings do not say where two of these companies are registered.

Changes of control

2008
Renamed Prudential Annuities Life Assurance Corporation, from American Skandia
2020
T&D Holdings bought 25% of Fortitude
2022
Bought from Prudential by Fortitude (1 Apr) [1] [2]

Where your premium goes

  1. 1 · You payPremiumOlder annuities and life policies
  2. 2 · Your insurerFortitude LifeArizona
  3. 3 · Reinsured withPrudential, and Fortitude ReFortitude Re is in Bermuda
  4. 4 · Money managed byCarlyle, for part of it$4m in fees in 2025
  5. 5 · Invested in$6.53bn of assetsSee below

9.5% of the business written by Fortitude Life’s US companies is reinsured with its own companies in Bermuda. [1]

What it invests in

32.8%in hard-to-sell investments. Up from 21.6% in 2024.
$489mmanaged by Carlyle affiliates: 7.5% of all investments.
Fortitude Life’s portfolio, 2024 to 202520252024
Corporate bonds
51.8%
61.6%
Asset-backed
21.9%
12.1%
Mortgage-backed
2.2%
2.7%
Government bonds
7.3%
10.2%
Mortgage loans
8.2%
6.3%
Derivatives and other
8.4%
6.8%
Cash and short-term
0.1%
0.1%

Source [1]

Links back to the owner

Your insurer invests part of your premiums in businesses tied to Carlyle: its own funds, companies those funds own, and lenders it controls.

Where the money wentHow it is tied to CarlyleAmount, end of 2025
Investments managed by Carlyle affiliatesMainly private credit$489m
Commitments to Carlyle-run fundsPromised, not yet invested$146m

Source [1]

At its Bermuda reinsurer

Fortitude Re$14.6bntied to Carlyle · 22% of its investments

Source [7]

Sources

Methodology

How we measure an insurer’s independence from its owner.

What it is

A credit rating tells you whether an insurer can pay its claims. It does not tell you how much the insurer depends on the firm that owns it. When one firm owns the insurer, manages its money, reinsures its policies and sells it investments, the policyholder’s money stays inside one group. This indicator shows how far that goes.

It is our own assessment, built only from public filings. It is not a credit rating and not financial advice.

The five indicators

IndicatorWhat we measureLowMediumHighWhere it comes from
Money managed by the ownerShare of investments managed by the owner or its affiliatesBelow 25%25–75%Above 75%Investment management agreement in the annual report or statutory filing
Business reinsured with own companiesShare of the insurer’s business reinsured with companies in the same groupBelow 20%20–50%Above 50%Reinsurance note of the annual report; Schedule S of the statutory statement
Investments tied to the ownerRelated-party investments as a share of all investmentsBelow 3%3–10%Above 10%Related-party note; affiliated holdings in Schedules D and BA
Fees paid to the ownerInvestment management fees paid to the owner, as a share of invested assetsBelow 0.2%0.2–0.5%Above 0.5%Related-party note of the annual report
Hard-to-sell investmentsInvestments that are not traded on a market and are hard to value or sell quickly: mortgage loans, asset-backed, mortgage-backed and CLO securities, and alternatives, as a share of investmentsBelow 20%20–40%Above 40%Investment tables of the annual report; Schedules D and BA

How the overall result is set

Each indicator scores 2 for Low, 1 for Medium and 0 for High reliance on the owner. The five scores are added up, for a total between 0 and 10. A higher score means a more independent insurer.

When a filing does not publish what an indicator needs, that indicator is left out and the total is scaled to 10. We give an overall result only when at least three of the five indicators can be assessed.

  • 7–10Independence: High
  • 4–6Independence: Medium
  • 0–3Independence: Low

Example: Athene scores High on three indicators and Medium on two, for a total of 2 out of 10. Its independence from Apollo is Low.

Limits

  • Thresholds are our own. We will review them once enough insurers are covered to compare.
  • Group filings can mix the insurer with its offshore reinsurers. We say which entity each figure covers.
  • When a figure is not published, the indicator is marked as not assessed rather than guessed.
  • Figures are as of the latest annual filing and can change during the year.
32 insurers